Just Keep Swimming

Story of the day:  Just Keep Swimming

     In the Movie, Finding Nemo, a little fish named Nemo gets caught by some divers and is taken to live in a dentist’s aquarium.  To Nemo, being stuck in the tank is pretty trivial compared to not ever seeing his father again.  Little does Nemo know that his father is going to all links to try and find his son so that he can bring him home again.  Through rough waters, sharks, jellyfish, and unknown territory, Nemo is finally reunited with his father, but it was because of consistant perseverance. 

     One line from the movie that is a great reminder of this type of perseverance is when Dory says to Marlin (the dad), “Do you know whatcha gotta do, when life gets you down?  Just keep swimming, just keep swimming.”  And even though these words come from a little fish, these words are a great reminder of what we should do once we are faced with similar situations, whether you find yourself in unknown territory, fighting against battles that seem unbearable, or when you feel as if you can’t overcome.  These words are words that symbolize what it means to truly persevere to the end.  So wherever your circumstance may find you, “just keep swimming, just keep swimming” and keep on swimming to the end. 

Quote of the day: Dory from Nemo

“When life gets you down, you know whatcha got do? Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming swimming swimming.”

Bible verse of the day:  Romans 5:3-4

“And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Just like those little fish in that movie, my prayer is to persevere until the end.  Father, You have equipped me with all the tools that I will ever need.  I pray to choose wisely every day the path that You have set before me.  I ask for strength to get through obstacles that may come my way and that I, just like in Nemo, will “just keep swimming, just keep swimming,” to the very end.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. Beautiful!! I just found this blog as it came up as a related one under my 100 Days of Gratitude – Day 74.
    Cheering you on, Love Kerrie

  2. Brianna Fregosi says:

    awesome verse to go along with that cute quote. i wrote it on the envelope of a card that i just sent my brother to give him some hope <3

  3. Patricia says:

    I swamped with course work in my program grad school/seminary for counseling. As i attempt to write about biblical anthropology/integrating faith into psychology, i think of Dory and her saying…just keep swimming. So i google it and find this blog. I have been saying “just keep swimming” the whole semester and Romans 5:3-4 really ministered to me today. The Bible IS practical to every detail in human life, including all the sciences and technology. The hope we find at the end, is that God is faithful to complete the work he began in us, just as he was faithful to his redemptive plan of salvation by sending Christ.

  4. Deena says:

    I wanted to get a self booster and thought of Dory telling Nemo “just keep swimming” so I opened Google and it brought me to this page. So inspiring! I know this is God’s message for me today. Thank you.

  5. Craig says:

    Feeling swamped at work. Did a Google search for Dory’s quote and was guided to click the link to this site. Thank you – God knew just what I needed!

Leave a Reply

