Fighting the good fight

Posted: September 24, 2009 in September 2009

Story of the day:  fighting the good fight

In the book Healing the Masculine Soul, Gordon Dalbey says:

When Jesus refers to the Holy Spirit as the Helper, He uses a Greek word, Paraclete, that was an ancient warrior’s term.

Greek soldiers went into battle in pairs, so when the enemy attacked, they could draw together back-to-back, covering each other’s blind side.  One’s battle partner was the Paraclete.

Quote of the day:  Tom Tripp

“Our Lord does not send us to fight the good fight alone.  The Holy Spirit is our battle partner who covers our blind side and fights for our well-being.”

Bible verse of the day:  John 14:16 (NIV)

“And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Counselor to be with you forever.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for sending the Holy Spirit, my Helper, Whom is always there ready to be my battle partner in this good fight.  May I never get the attitude that I can do anything on my own, for I know that all that I have and do comes from You.  I love You and thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. sam says:

    When Evil comes, FIGHT TO YOUR LAST BREATH

  2. Heahther says:

    I love this page! I had a dream last night about the battle between heaven and hell and good and evil. I had an angel with me and the devil was after us. Rather than hide scared, we found what weapons we could (although none of them worked) and went straight to his house! I didn’t feel scared for a single second and we kicked some evil butt. It was one of those dreams where you wake up and think “yea!” we did it!

Leave a Reply

