Story of the day: Character-Driven vs Emotional Driven

There’s a lot that can be said when regarding one’s behavior and why it is essential to base the behavior on reason and not emotion. First of all, if our behavior is acted out solely on our emotional state, then we could have many problems. Emotions, according to Wikipedia.com states that an emotion is associated with mood, temperament, personality, and disposition, where people behave in certain ways as a direct result of their emotional state. With that being said, our behavior should never be based on emotion, because it can always change depending on how we “feel.”

Being character-driven versus emotional-driven is not that different from basing our daily behavior on reasoning instead of emotions. Character-driven is where the person always tends to do the right thing regardless of how they “feel.” Being a person that is a character-driven person is a lot different from the emotional-driven person. The emotional-driven person seems to make decisions based on convenience, attitude, what is easier, popular, and seems to give up when problems surface.

Nothing stands the test like solid character. You can handle the blast (of adversity) like a steer in a blizzard. The ice may form on your horns, but you keep standing against the wind and the howling, raging storm because Christ is at work in your spirit. Being Character-Driven will always win the day. [Swindoll, Chuck, Hope Again].

Quote of the day: Horace Greeley

“Fame is a vapor, popularity an accident, riches take wing, and only character endures.”

Bible verse of the day: Psalm 19:14 (NIV)

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I pray that You breathe into my character each day. Father, I pray to be a character-driven person, looking towards You to lead me in my thoughts, my words, and my actions. Father, if there is something going on in my life, may I not act out of emotion, but come to You before any decision is made. I love You and thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. J. Smith says:

    Very inspirational!!!!!

  2. Sad Guy says:

    I chose to marry a wonderful person based on our shared values and character. She is not very high on MY scale of attractiveness, I know I did the right thing for the right reasons, but I have never loved her completely because I do place a very high value on attractiveness. My love for her is based on a very deep friendship, but there is no passion. It is a great marriage, but I wonder if she and I might have been better to make decisions based on emotions first when dating.

    I am at a point where I am questioning a character-based decision that on paper EVERYONE agrees was the right thing to do, but now makes me feel trapped in a marriage with no spark.

Leave a Reply

