When I am weak, You are strong

Posted: February 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  When I am weak, You are strong

Do you feel strong in your weakness?  The pain we may all experience, that can be found in our weak times, although challenging, can be rewarding when all is said and done. It may not seem like it while you are going through the pain, but power is made perfect in our weakness.  As I continued on with this thought about our pain or times of persecution that we all go through at one time or another, God shed a little more onto this by sharing this marvelous Scripture with me.  It is written in 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 and gracefully it says this “but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.  So, I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.  Therefore I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities for the sake of Christ; for whenever I am weak, then I am strong.”

As I continued to study the Scripture some more, this little piece of art that I found helps to illustrate this Scripture in how the power of God makes us strong in our weaknesses or the trials and tribulations that we may experience daily.

A little piece of wood once complained bitterly because its owner kept whittling away at it, cutting it, and filling it with holes, but the one who was cutting it so remorselessly paid no attention to its complaining.  He was making a flute out of that piece of ebony, and he was too wise to desist from doing so, even though the wood complained bitterly.  He seemed to say, “Little piece of wood, without these holes, and all this cutting, you would be a black stick for ever–just a useless piece of ebony.  What I am doing now may make you think that I am destroying you, but, instead, I will change you into a flute, and your sweet music will charm the souls of men and comfort many a sorrowing heart.  My cutting you is the making of you, for only thus can you be a blessing in the world.  [M.R. Dehaan]

Although we can’t always see the big picture of why we go through the things we go through, it truly is for our best interest and we will only become stronger for having gone through our trials, if we allow God’s power to be made perfect in our weakness.

Quote of the day:  C. S. Lewis

“God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our conscience, but shouts in our pains:  it is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world.”

Bible verse of the day:  2 Samuel 22:31

“This God–His way is perfect: the promise of the Lord proves true:  He is a shield for all who take refuge in Him.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I am grateful that Your power is made perfect at the times when I am the weakest.  God, I thank You for always being there for all of the times in my life.  You are there when I am happiest, when I am saddest, and when I have overcome whatever obstacle was placed before me.  I thank You for being my Everything.  I love You and thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen


Comments
  1. Charm says:

    Thank you for this, I am blessed and hopefully was able to bless a friend in need – Charm

Leave a Reply

