Step by Step

Posted: August 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  Step by Step

Have you ever been out on a foggy night, and you can’t see the next step in front of you?  You reach for your flashlight so that you can see, but it only gives you enough light for your next step.

The guidance of God can be likened to a flashlight on a foggy night that shines only one step ahead.  If we were to see several steps more, we would have no reason to trust God–or if we saw that the steps were leading to conflict, we might back away from lack of faith.

Although it’s natural to want to see ahead, it’s also natural for God to create circumstances that lead us to trust Him–one step at a time.  Trusting God for every step of the way is how Jesus lived.  We too can trust God for our next unseen step. (Nick Harrison)

Quote of the day:  Catherine Booth

“Whatever the particular call is, the particular sacrifice God asks you to make, the particular cross He wishes you to embrace, whatever the particular path He wants you to tread, will you rise up, and say in your heart, “Yes, Lord, I accept it; I submit, I yield, I pledge myself to walk in that path, and to follow that Voice and to trust Thee with the consequences”  Oh!  but you say, “I don’t know what He will want next.”  No, none of know that, but we know we shall be safe in His hands.”

Bible verse of the day:  Jeremiah 10:23

“O LORD, I know the way of man is not in himself; It is not in man who walks to direct his ownsteps.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for directing my steps.  Father, I submit, I yield, and I pledge myself to walk in the path that You have chosen for me.  I will listen to Your Voice and trust You with the outcome.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

