Press 1 and someone may be with you shortly.

Posted: February 20, 2008 in February 2008
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

j0423103.jpg                                                                                                                                                                                     Story of the day:  Press 1 and someone may be with you shortly.

    I don’t know about you, but how many times have you called a place and didn’t get a person on the first try?  Maybe you had to go through three or four different computerized voices before actually reaching a person.  The personalization of people has been replaced by digital responses.  Sometimes I just don’t want to hear digital voices, and would rather speak to a person, but I think those days are long gone.  I guess I am not the only person that feels this way, Joe Stowell wrote about “it seems as though whenever we try and reach out and touch someone, we are greeted with a computerized voice.

    I’m glad this isn’t true of our Father in Heaven.  He is always there.  No voice-mail boxes, no “press 2 for more grace” and no “call waiting” interruptions.  Thankfully, “Call to Me, and I will answer you” has not been replaced by, “All lines are busy.  Your call is important to Me.  Please stay on the line.”

    Yet I wonder what kind of access He has to us?

    Communication (there’s that word again) with God is a two way street.  He speaks to us through His Word when we come attentively before Him in prayer and through the clear voice of the Indwelling Spirit.  He paid a great price to keep the lines open so that we can experience the joy of being still long enough to know that He is God.” 

Quote of the day:  Joe Stowell

“The joy of hearing His voice is a call you don’t want to miss!”

Bible verse of the day:  Jeremiah 33:3

“Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You that You always hear my call.  You always have an answer and are willing to show me the things that I don’t know or understand at times.  I pray that I keep the lines of communication open with You and that during times of trials that may come my way, I am able to dial Your number and Hear Your Powerful yet small voice whispering to me and saying, “Everything will be alright!”  Lord, I come attentively to You in prayer and pray that I too keep the distractions at a distance and that I stay focused on the plans that You have set before me.  May I hear the clear voice of the Holy Spirit that dwells deep within me so that I may see all the great and mighty things that You have to show me.  I don’t know what my day may hold, but with You leading my way and directing my path, I shall overcome.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

