dsc00750_edited.jpg                                                                                                                                                                                                              Story of the day:  He is our Lighthouse

    We watched a movie last night that made reference to a lighthouse.  The person in the movie was explaining to the children what the lighthouses were used for and how they had saved many lives of people that were stuck at sea.  This past Sunday our pastor had also referenced the dark and how we feel so uncomfortable in the dark, because we can’t see.  When people can’t see, there is always a sense of urgency to find some source of light.  Our pastor had also said, “Do you remember as children when you would hear noises in the dark, but couldn’t see anything.”  You would search for some sort of light that would comfort you.  Sometimes you just wanted your parents to come, turn the light on, and check just to make sure that the one thing that you thought you had heard wasn’t in the closet or under the bed. The darkness can be scary because we can’t see what’s in front of us, but once the light is on and you can see, the things that were once scary in the dark, aren’t so scary in the light.

    Last night when we saw this movie, this one particular line touched me the most.  The character asked the children,  “Why do we have lighthouses?  Well, because they help when it’s dark out.  They help us from crashing into the rocks, because when you’re out there and you’re being tossed back and forth by those big dark waves and you think you’ll never feel land again and you feel like you are being split into a thousand pieces and sink down deep, it’s the light that keeps us on course.”  How powerful this line was to me and as I began to truly think about this and God began to tie things together from Sunday at church to Monday night when we watched this movie, He began to show me that without the light, we can become lost or scared.  We want to cry out because we can’t see what’s in front of us.  And as overwhelming as the darkness may be, it makes us appreciate the light even more.  

    Know this, just as our pastor said, “It won’t be dark for long.”  If you find yourself at your lowest times, or your “darkest hour”, it will be God’s Light that will show you the way.  And as much as we can pray to never have rough times, we are not guaranteed that we won’t have them.  But, just as quickly as those “big dark waves” come, Jesus will be there, standing in as our Lighthouse, and He will keep us from “crashing into the rocks”,  “being tossed back and forth by those big dark waves”, and when we can’t feel the land beneath our feet, He will “keep us on course.”

Quote of the day:  Christy Povolish

“Have you become afraid of the dark?  Keep your eyes focused on Jesus, for He is the Lighthouse that will bring forth the light and peace that you need.”

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 27:1

“The Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear?  The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

As scary as the dark may be, You have said that You are my light and my salvation, and as such, I should not be afraid, because Your light, will keep me from “crashing into the rocks” and will “keep me on course,” if I keep my eye on You.  I thank You that during the dark, You are always there, shining for me to see.  Thank You for the gift of light.  God, I pray for those individuals out there that are “being tossed back and forth by those big dark waves.”  God I pray that they open their eyes long enough to see the Lighthouse that You have placed before them.  I pray for them to find peace in these times by following the Light and to know that even though this experience may be a lot to take, and the dark is uncomfortable, that “the sun will eventually come up” and their dark hour can come to an end, if they just trust and have faith in You.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen 

Comments
  1. […] æè¨ å¥³æ§ wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt                                                                                                                                                                                                               Story of the day:  He is our Lighthouse     We watched a movie last night that made reference to a lighthouse.  The person in the movie was explaining to the children what the lighthouses were used for and how they had saved many lives of people that were stuck at sea.  This past Sunday our […]

  2. Julie says:

    What a great post! Thank you! God’s been saying a lot of the same things to me lately! 🙂 He’s even taken it one step further, explaining that this time of darkness (for me it more waiting and uncertainty than painful trial) is the only way for me to grow in my faith in him- that’s it’s only in situations that demand a character trait that we grow in that trait…

  3. shawn newman says:

    That is great inspirational prayer for all of us to know that our God is always there to protect us. If our God is for us then what can stand against us. I pray that God would open up more than our physical eyes but also our spiritual eyes for us to gain insight into the enemies traps. I would like you to know that I am going to share that praye with some people I know so that they may come out of the spiritual darkness intoGods marvelous light take cake and God bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

