Story of the day:  Don’t wait until it’s too late

     Relationships are so very important.  The time it takes to cultivate them and the energy that is placed within them can be so rewarding, if we allow the time and energy for them.  The people that we hold dear and valuable to us, we should always take that extra time to value them.  We don’t wish to spend our time here in this world alone, yet sometimes we allow words to hurt us, words to hurt others, or to get so focused on ourselves that we don’t always tell those closest to us how valuable they are to us, and our words get lost in the day.  We take it for granted that they are going to be here everyday and that death, although can happen at anytime, is not going to happen to us right away.  And what happens, we wish we had done things more or said what we wanted to say, and wind up regretting it later.  As a person that believes life is so short and that we should treasure the time and people that God has given to us while here in this world, I must say that we shouldn’t let the sun go down on our anger, or get so self absorbed with ourselves that we lose sight of what is important.  

    Clarence Macartney wrote an interesting piece about a man named Thomas who waited too long.  He had “married his secretary.  She was someone that he loved dearly, but he was very thoughtless and absorbed in his own interests and activities, treating his wife as if she were still his employee.

    Stricken with cancer, she was confined to her bed for a long time before she died.  After her funeral, Carlyle went back to his empty house.  Disconsolate and grieving, he wandered around downstairs thinking about the woman he had loved.  After a while he went upstairs to her room and sat down in the chair beside the bed on which she had been lying for months.  He realized with painful regret that he had not sat there very often during her long illness.  He noticed her diary.  While she was alive, he would never have read it, but now that she was gone he felt free to pick it up and thumb through its pages.  One entry caught his eye:  “Yesterday he spent one hour with me.  And it was like being in heaven.  I love him so much.”  He turned a few more pages and read, “I listened all day to hear his steps in the hallway.  And now it’s late.  I guess he won’t come to see me.”  Thomas read a few more entries and then through the book on the floor and rushed out through the rain back to the cemetery.  He fell on his wife’s grave in the mud, sobbing, “If only I had known…if only I had known.”

    Some of the lyrics from a childhood song say it best.  The song entitled In the Living Years, by Mike and the Mechanics says this, “Say it loud, say it clear. You can listen as well as you hear.  Its too late when we die”  Yes, it is too late when we die, so we should tell those we hold so dear that we love them!   And we shouldn’t wait until it’s too late, for we are not guaranteed tomorrow.

Quote of the day:  St. Anthony of Padua

“Actions speak louder than words; let your words teach and your actions speak.”

Bible verse of the day:  1 John 5:4

“For whatever is born of God overcomes the world.  And this is the victory that has overcome the world-our faith.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I thank You for those that You have placed in my path.  Father they are all such precious souls and I treasure each of them.  I thank You for my family.  God You have blessed me with them and I don’t want to take for granted the time that You have given me with them.  I pray that I use the time wisely and treasure all the times that I am with them.  God, I know that I am only here for so long and I don’t want any regrets while here.  Continue to guide and monitor my time so that it is used wisely.  I pray to not let anger play a part in me not ever saying I love you to someone and I pray that I don’t let the small things eat away at me.  I pray to not let the sun go down on my anger!  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. Rayetta says:

    BEATIFUL!!!!

Leave a Reply

