Story of the day:  But other flies are doing it!

Charles Swindoll wrote a very interesting piece on peer pressure.  He writes:  “Once a spider built a beautiful web in an old house.  He kept it clean and shiny so that flies would patronize it.  The minute he got a “customer” he would clean up after him so the other flies would not get suspicious.

Then one day this fairly intelligent fly came buzzing by the clean spiderweb.  Old man spider called out, “Come in and sit.”  But the fairly intelligent fly said, “No, sir.  I don’t see other flies in your house, and I am not going in alone!”

But presently he saw on the floor below a large crowd of flies dancing around on a piece of brown paper.  He was delighted!  He was not afraid if lots of flies were doing it.  So he came in for a landing.

Just before he landed, a bee zoomed by, saying, “Don’t land there, dummy!  That’s flypaper!”  But the fairly intelligent fly shouted back, “Don’t be silly.  Those flies are dancing.  There’s a big crowd there.  Everybody’s doing it.  That many flies can’t be wrong!  Well, you know what happened.  He died on the spot.

Some of us want to be with the crowd so badly that we end up in a mess.  What does it profit a fly (or a person) if he escapes the web only to end up in the glue?”

Quote of the day:  Arnold Toynbee

“It is doubtful if the majority has ever been right.”

Bible verse of the day:  Matthew 8:19

“Then a certain scribe came and said to Him, “Teacher, I will follow You wherever You go.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

As I look to You as my Teacher and my Guide in this world, I pray to study Your Word and stand upon the Truth that is revealed to me.  I pray for wisdom in knowing the times that are tempting to want to follow the crowd, and stand apart as to only follow You.  Father I pray for mom this morning as she is having surgery and that You heal her completely.  Be with me while I am here and be with my father as he is with her there.  Give her strength to endure the procedure and an assurance that she is in Your total care.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

 

Comments
  1. Kenny Lewis says:

    I have searched and searched for the source of the Quote of the day, which your article attributes to Arnold Toynbee, “It is doubtful is the majority has ever been right.”

    Could you point me to the source?

    Thanks!!!

    Kenny Lewis

    • Christy says:

      Sure:) I also had a typo in there…the quote is supposed to read, “It is doubtful if the majority has ever been right.” The source for that quote is found in Charles Swindoll’s book, Living Above the Level of Mediocrity. ISBN: 0849931770

      Have a great day!!

      Christy:)

  2. Kenny Lewis says:

    Thank you! I am so honored that you would take time to respond. I pulled Swindoll’s book, “Living Above the Level of Mediocrity,” off my shelf and found the quote on page 87. Unfortunately, Dr. Swindoll doesn’t list the source. I will contact Insight for Living and see if they can identify the primary source. Thanks, again, for responding!!!! Kenny Lewis

Leave a Reply

