Feed me, change me, love me

Posted: April 24, 2008 in April 2008
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

                                                                                                            Story of the day:  Feed me, change me, love me

   From the time we are born, we rely on people to feed us, change us, and love us.  We are all born with a “me” need that needs to be met.  As a baby that is totally understandable.  The baby needs these things in order to survive, because the baby can’t take care of himself.   But as we grow we are given the tools that we need in order to feed and change ourselves.   The I mentality should diminish as we get older, but because we have been given so much, sometimes we don’t know how to change that.  

   A caring, selfless nature isn’t built into us.  Human beings are born with a selfish desire that needs to be met and as we grow some individuals take on an ego that is filled with pride and self.  As we become Christians, we should be maturing every day.  We should stop drinking all of that formula (which is fed to us) and start eating the meat that is placed before us.  The spiritual food that is given to us and the transformation that Christ starts in us, can then lead to us putting on Christ’s attributes of faith, hope, and love.  We should put these on and do so with a Christ mindset.   But this can only be done once we let go of pride and self.

   “The story is told of a laborer who was a mature Christian and gave a solid testimony before all who knew him.  His boss came to him one day and said, “You know, whatever you’ve got, I want.  You have such peace and joy and contentment.  How can I get this?”

   The laborer said, “Go to you home, put on your best suit, come down here, and work in the mud with the rest of us–and you can have it.”

   “What are you talking about?  I could never do that.  I’m the boss, you’re the worker.  I can’t do that.  That’s beneath my dignity.”  The boss came back a couple of months later and said, “I ask you again, what is it that you have and how can I get it?”

   “I told you, go put on your best suit, come down and work in the mud with us, and you can have it.”  Again, the boss became furious and walked off.

   Finally in desperation he came back to the laborer and said, “I don’t care what it takes!  I’ll do anything.”  The laborer said, “Will you put on your best suit and come down and work in the mud?”  The boss agreed that he would even do that.  Then the laborer said, “You don’t have to.”

   Do you see the point?  The laborer knew what was standing between the boss and Christ–pride and self.”

Quote of the day:  Buddy Robinson  

“Pride is the only disease known to man that makes everyone sick except the person who has it.”

Bible verse of the day:  1 Corinthians 13:11

“When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Today as I marvel in the things that You have done for me, I pray to put away any pride that may be lurking in my closet.  May I put on the mindset of Your Son and live a life that only pleases You.  Search my heart for areas that need to be changed and give me wisdom and knowledge from Your Word on how to change these areas in my life.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

