Story of the day:  God is our consuming fire

   There are many different definitions of consuming and fire in the dictionary.  In Hebrews 12:29, the two words consuming and fire work together in meaning that our God is our strong and urgent, burning passion.   I got to thinking about this some more and found in Scripture one account where Moses encountered God’s consuming fire through an actual burning bush.   “The Angel of the Lord” in Exodus 3:2-3 “appeared to Moses in a flame of fire from the midst of a bush.  Moses looked and the bush was burning with fire, yet the bush was not burned by the fire. 

   And although Moses didn’t know at the time , that leading people out of Egypt would become his burning passion, he like most of us was unsure of what to expect and began to question God.  He said in Exodus 4:10,13, “Oh my Lord, I am not eloquent, and I am slow of speech and slow of tongue, please send someone else.”  Then God in His Evident Grace spoke back to Moses and said, “Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall say.” 

   God wants to spark in each of us His consuming fire so that we may know Him as the great “I AM”.   He wants us to have faith in knowing that what He is calling us to do, is part of His plan and if we are obedient and follow what He is saying without question, then that consuming fire will be lit in each of us and we will be consumed by it.  So don’t worry if you have yet to know what God has planned for your life, instead continue to live by faith and He will begin to show You the calling that He has set before you.   

 Quote of the day:  Bill Hybels

“God calls us to be committed to Him, to be committed to making a difference, and to be committed to reconciliation.”

Bible verse of the day:  Hebrews 12:29

“For our God is a consuming fire.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for being my consuming fire.  May I continue to live with a passion that is burning deep within my soul.  Continue to spark in me a willingness to obey what You are asking of me and to do so with a faith that comes from knowing You.  Father continue to mold me into the person that You have created me to become and do so in a way that brings honor to Your name.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen 

Comments
  1. […] tagged fireOwn a WordPress blog? Make monetization easier with the WP Affiliate Pro plugin. God is our consuming fire saved by 2 others     punchpixie bookmarked on 05/23/08 | […]

  2. Aaron Sebati says:

    may the God Lord be with you all

  3. Ed Wilds says:

    Great thought, and will pass this along!

  4. Anonymous says:

    My prayer is Lord consume my mind body and soul till people do not see me but only you!

Leave a Reply

