Story of the day:  Back in the trenches

   Steve Brown “relates the story of a soldier in World War I who was so distraught with the war that he deserted.  He tried to find his way to the coast so he could catch a boat and make his way back incognito to his homeland in England.

   In the darkness of the night he stumbled on a road sign.  It was so pitch black and he was so lost.  He had no idea where he was or what the sign said.  He decided to climb the pole.  When he got to the crossbeam, he held on to read the sign.  Taking out a match, he lit it, and looked directly in the face of Jesus Christ.  He had climbed an outdoor crucifix!

   Stunned by what he saw, realized the shame of his life.  He was looking back into the face of the One who had endured it all and had never turned back.  The next morning the soldier was back in the trenches.”  Have you tried to flee incognito or are you back in the trenches enduring what is set before you?

Quote of the day:  Teresa of Avila

“Many people neglect the task that lies at hand and are content with having wished to do the impossible.”

Bible verse of the day:  John 12:27

“Now My soul is troubled, and what shall I say?  Father, save Me from this hour?  But for this purpose I came to this hour.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

So often we are faced with adversity or challenges that may seem hard to endure.  I pray for strength and perseverance to endure the race that is set before me.  Father even if I feel uncomfortable in a situation, may I be reminded that comfort means that I have become complacent in my walk and to be uncomfortable is not always a bad thing.  Father, I don’t want to be comfortable in my walk!  May I continue to raise the bar in my life so that the time that I have remaining here on Earth can bring honor to Your name.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

