June 2008

God is forever faithful-June 9th

Story of the day:  God is forever faithful (Kim’s Collections)

  

   I am very excited to have this opportunity to share what God teaches me through His word and life experiences. So much of what He reveals to me is the result of my morning devotions. I may not at the time of sitting, reading and praying receive any life changing revelation, but as I meditate upon His word or just go about my day, He seems to speak to me and give me examples of a truth or principle that I had been reading about that morning.

 

   In the book of Ecclesiastes, Solomon writes, “There is nothing new under the sun.”. I remember the day that this portion of scripture encouraged me greatly. I was trying to come up with something to share with our ladies at a morning “Coffee Share Time.” I remember praying and telling God that I was having a hard time coming up with something different, something that the ladies had not heard. God isn’t persuaded by our current predicament, but He is forever faithful to hear and answer our prayer in His time. I got up from my quiet time with a sense of frustration and disappointment because I had not been able to write down anything to share. As I continued throughout my morning (actually in the shower), He spoke to me in my spirit and told me that I can never exhaust His words. I may teach from the same passage or speak about a topic that may have been heard and God can take the truth from a particular passage and give us a deeper understanding or a new application for the truth.

 

   So my challenge for myself and to you is to remain teachable. This will enable you to receive new revelation of an eternal truth. The writer of the book of Hebrews writes, “The word of God is living and powerful.” I know that I am not yet perfected, and if my guess is correct, neither are you. So as long as I am in the process of being perfected, God’s word will continue to bring fresh insight, new revelation and often painful “piercing even to the division of the soul and spirit” because “it is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart” (Hebrews 4:12).

 

Quote of the day:  Warren Wiersbe

 

“Wise people listen to wise instruction, especially from the Word of God.”

 

Bible verse of the day:  Ecclesiastes 1:9

“That which has been is what will be, that which is done is what will be done, and there is nothing new under the sun.”

 

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

 

 

Today I pray that we will continue to stay open and teachable to all that You have to teach us. Help and teach us to be quiet before You and then listen to You. Help us to recognize Your still, small voice. Help us discern what is from You and what we should take captive. Reveal to us today something that will enable us to become more like You. Thank you for hearing my prayer and answering it according to Your will.

 

In Jesus’ name,

 

Amen.

Leave a comment