Story of the day:  God always makes a way (Kim’s Collections)

 

 

As our children were growing up we loved to go hiking in the woods. I remember one particular hike that we took on a cold, icy winter day. I remember falling once and coming close to it many other times. It wouldn’t have been as difficult if the ground were level, but there were many steep climbs that we had to make. Thankfully the paths were clearly marked and easy to see, but the icy conditions made staying afoot a challenge. I remember the verse coming to my mind where we are admonished to, “Walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise” (Eph. 5:15). Although the path was clear we still had to consider each step that we took and then step carefully.

 

That is the way it is in our Christian journey. God will always make a way for us to follow after Him, but He wants us to seek Him all along the way and make steady and sure steps ordered by Him.

 

I have been right in the middle of a great work for the Lord and realized that I was focusing more on the completion of the task instead of my relationship with the One who equipped me for the work. That’s when I must repent and refocus and then continue in His work.

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 17:5

 

“Uphold my steps in Your paths, that my footsteps may not slip.” This verse tells me that it is possible to be on the very path that God has called and led me to and still slip if I’m not allowing Him to teach me and lead me along the way.

 

Just a thought: Kim Burke

 

The closer that I stay to my Guide, the better I can lean on Him for comfort, and hear His directions to lead me to His desired destination.

 

Prayer:

 

Dear Father,

 

I pray that The eyes of our understanding will be open to anything that we are pursuing in our own strength. Lord, I know that You are faithful to shine Your light to show us where You are leading, But please help us to recognize it and then give us the courage to step. Teach up to wait on You and follow after Your peace.

 

In Jesus’ name

 

Amen.

Leave a Reply

