Are you gonna get the door?

Posted: July 1, 2008 in July 2008
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

                                                                                                                  Story of the day:  Are you gonna get the door?

     Before people come over to our home, I typically like to have things in order.  We as a family will vacuum, maybe dust (if time permits), make sure the kitchen is clean, and the bathroom is wiped down (we have boys).  You know what I am talking about, that “quick cleaning” to make things smell nice.  I am lucky to get the upstairs picked up and the laundry folded and put away before our guests arrive.  While our cleaning is underway, there have been times that we haven’t heard the doorbell or the knock of our guests.  The funny thing is that they never left, they stayed the entire time until we finished cleaning and waited patiently to enter our home (probably laughing because they would be doing the same thing:)

     “Before God sent His Son to earth, people’s ability to know God was limited.  But when God took on human form, in the person of Jesus Christ, people could know Him fully and tangibly.”  Revelation 3:20 paints a powerful picture of Jesus “standing at the door of the church, knocking.  He wants to enter, to be welcomed to fellowship.  He desires to enter our hearts and lives.  Notice, however, the He allows us to open the door for ourselves.  Jesus doesn’t force His will on us, pounding at the door or prying it open; instead, He stands and knocks politely.

     The church at Laodicea had become “lukewarm”; that is, they had allowed their passion for Christ to cool and had become enamored with themselves and their wealth instead.  Eventually, Jesus was no longer with them.  Thus He was standing on the outside, knocking, hoping to get their attention so that He might enter and change their lives.

    Where is Jesus for you?  Outside or inside?  Is He a stranger, or do you “share meals” together?  Do you seek daily to know Him and His will for you?  What concerns occupy your thoughts?  Relationships?  Career?  Possessions and power?  Perhaps even survival?  Do they threaten to push Jesus to the fringe of your life?

     So, turn off the vacuum long enough to hear his knock and “whatever your situation, know that the Lord is standing near and is ready for You to hear His gentle knock.  Push through the clutter and open the door” and then welcome Christ into your home and “give Him His rightful place in your life.” (Livingstone) 

Quote of the day:  C. H. Spurgeon

“Happiness is obedience, and obedience is happiness.”

Bible verse of the day:  Revelation 3:20

“Behold, I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to Him and dine with Him, and He with Me.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I don’t want You on the outside of my home, but on the inside at all times.  I wish to fellowship with You everyday and to lean on You for all things in my life.  As I walk this road in life, may I continue to do Your Will and not my own.  Father, You are there knocking at the door no matter what my home looks like.  You request entrance into it and if I allow the distractions of this world into my life, then I won’t be able to hear You knock, and for that I am sorry.  Thank You for continued patience and for this day that You have blessed me with.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen   

 

Leave a Reply

