Increasing your faith: Ask and you might just get it.

Posted: July 21, 2008 in July 2008

Story of the day:  Increasing your faith:  Ask and you might just get it.

     Good morning to all of you.  Jeff and I have arrived safely in Dallas.  If I could describe in one word this move, it would be, “WOW!”  Our entire trip was faced with so much opposition, as I usually expect some opposition.  However, what I didn’t know was that Jeff was praying for God to increase his faith.  We had a 26′ foot truck loaded to the max with furniture and boxes, configured like a tetris game.  Added to this overloaded truck was a 6′ trailer, also loaded to the max with boxes.  Nothing new with this move, except for the new trailer that was attached to the truck (and Jeff praying).  As Jeff and my father went to weigh both the truck and trailer, something the military requires, the hitch to the the trailer detached from the back of the truck.  Luckily, we hadn’t actually traveled on the highway, as someone could have been seriously hurt.  As a result, Jeff and my father waited on the side of the road for 3 hours for help.  Everything that we owned was parked on the side of the road, in a moving truck and the unhitched trailer.    Out of thousands of people that work on the base, only 1 stopped and asked if they needed help.   

     Another opposition we faced was packaged neatly, like a gift, enticing us to want to open it quickly.  On the drive down, I received a call from a principal in San Antonio, wanting to hire me for a teaching job.  It had been years since I had applied to this school district, and they were now offering me a job.  It sounded great and almost financially worth it, as our goal is to open our church next year and San Antonio is where we needed to be (according to our plan)… so why not take the job?  Since God placed our entire family together in Dallas (according to His plan), we knew it was best not to split up our family (& what God has brought together) on account of a job or financial gain.  Jeff and I continued to pray and asked God’s guidance through the trip, for we knew the things we’re facing are from the enemy (expected), as these are a direct result of the enemy trying to discourage us from doing God’s work.  There were times in the trip that I was frustrated, wanted to be done with it already, and completely exhausted.  I am so grateful to God for showing us that we are right where we need to be. 

     Although we faced different facets of opposition, God clearly showed us that we didn’t need to focus on those distractions, but to continue to focus on Him throughout the entire move.  It was keeping our eyes on Him that kept the things and us moving forward and many times humorous.  During the week of our move, had we become consumed by all the distractions, like the trailer coming unhitched from the truck, then we wouldn’t have seen the blessing of God teaching me to be faithful during that stressful time–not to mention increasing Jeff’s faith, as Jeff anxiously awaited help for 3 hours on the side of the road.   No matter how difficult your opposition may seem, you can find Peace when you don’t lose sight of God.  Additionally, remember, when asking God to increase your faith, regardless of how it’s offered, accept it, learn from it, and most importantly, find peace in it.  After all, especially when you ask, you might just get it–sometimes to not the way you expect or want it.    

Quote of the day:  Elisabeth Elliot

“God is God.  Because He is God, He is worthy of my trust and obedience.  I will find rest nowhere but in His Holy will, a will that is unspeakably beyond my largest notions of what He is up to.”

Bible verse of the day:  Job 19:26

“And after my skin is destroyed, this I know, that in my flesh I shall see God.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

When I face times of opposition, give me the strength to not be discouraged.  You are always faithful to me when I am not always faithful to You.  Help me to find peace during my times of opposition regardless of my circumstances.  You are my refuge and my fortress and I will place my entire trust in You.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

