Exercise your Spirit

Posted: July 23, 2008 in July 2008
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Story of the day:  Exercise your Spirit

     As we have been in Dallas for a week now, Jeff started his workout regime once again.  Because it is extremely hot here, and we are no longer near a base so that we can go to the gym, he has resorted to running in these temperatures.  He usually waits until sundown when it’s only 90 degrees as opposed to 100+ degrees.  Either way, it is important that Jeff remain healthy and in shape for his job.

     No matter how many times Jeff works out during the week he also recognizes that doing things for the Lord must also become a daily exercise routine or “a workout.”  The two exercises work two different aspects of our life.  “The one exercises his outer man, and the other the inner man.  The difference is that the outer man must labor to gain strength, while the inner man is “strengthened with might by his Spirit.”  As Mrs. Cowman says, this strength is continuous, inexhaustible reserves of power- given to us by God so that we can live a life of obedience.  The workout of our inner man is not so much to build our muscles as to exercise and keep them in shape.  We’re not working out to be strong–we’re working out because we are strong.  Exercising our Spirit gives expression to the power He freely supplies.”

Quote of the day:  Lettie B. Cowman

“The Lord imparts to us that primary strength of character that makes everything in life work with intensity and decision.  We are strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man.”  And the strength is continuous; reserves of power come to us that we cannot exhaust.”

Bible verse of the day:  Ephesians 3:16

“that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His Spirit in the inner man,”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for providing us daily examples through Your Word on how I should “exercise” my Spiritual life.  It is through these daily workouts of reading my word and following Your guidelines that I am able to establish a healthy workout that is imperative for my life.  I pray that You continue to show me areas in my life that need improvement and that through Your Grace are able to be changed.  Father, I will continue to praise You with my whole heart and I thank You for this precious day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. cornishevangelist says:

    This prophecy came to me in the evening of 23rd July 2008.
    The Lord said,
    “This battle angel is a good illustration of my battle –hardened angels who fight evil spirits on the earth. I have millions upon millions of these angelic beings to be commanded by my children on earth, saith the Lord of hosts”.
    This battle angel which the Lord showed me on a wall of an Anglican church in Lewes, England.
    These battle angels remind me of the angels who said, “Surely we are the servants of Jacob who is the servant of God, and who then can stand against us?”

    “You shall know the truth and the truth will set you free.”
    John 8:32.

    EVANGELIST BILLY BOLITHO

    http://www.evangelistbillybolitho.blogspot.com

  2. Simply beautiful. I stumbled across this after doing a google search. The fitness ministry God has placed me in charge of was founded on Ephes 3:16. inneractive FITCLUB has set out to help folks realize that a fit body is beautiful to look at. a fit spirit is grace in it’s truest form. but an unhealthy soul is like a tape worm. regardless of what you eat, the worm will eventually begin to eat all that you put inside your body as well as the body itself. it’s slow suicide.

    Thank you for your post. follow me at inneractivefitclub.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

