Funny Friday Quote

Posted: July 25, 2008 in Funny Friday Picks, July 2008
Tags: , , ,

Funny Friday Quote:  George Washington and that cherry tree (George Jessel)

     A farmer gathered his six sons around him to demand, “Which one of you boys pushed the outhouse into the creek?”  The culprit did not step forward.

     “Now boys,” said the farmer, “remember the story of George Washington and the cherry tree.  It’s true that young George chopped down the tree, but he told his father the truth, and his father was proud of him.”  Whereupon the farmer’s youngest son stepped forward and admitted that he had pushed the outhouse into the creek.  The farmer picked up a switch and whipped his son soundly.

     “But Pa,”  protested the boy tearfully, “you told me that George Washington’s father was proud of him when he confessed to chopping down the cherry tree.”

     “He was, son,”replied the farmer.  “But when George Washington chopped down that cherry tree, his father wasn’t sitting in it.”

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 19:1

“The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament shows His handiwork.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for such a blessed week.  Father, You are so full of grace and I am so blessed to know You as my Father.  Father, I know that I am hopeless and helpless without You.  I pray to be humbled before You so that You can use me to do great things for Your Kingdom.  I pray for those that may not have a personal relationship with You now.  Father, I pray that You stir in them something so great that they will know it’s from You.  I pray for continued guidance and that Your light will light my path.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

