Every good and perfect gift is from above

Posted: August 7, 2008 in August 2008
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

                                                                    Story of the day:  Every good and perfect gift is from above.

     Jeff and I have now traveled around 2500 miles in 5 days and that doesn’t include the 1200 miles for moving down here to Texas.  Although we have yet to be in our home in Frisco, Texas for more than 2 weeks, finding a computer to write on has become a little more difficult than expected.  I told Jeff that maybe we should look into getting one of those really cool blackberry’s.  Jokingly, I told Jeff, that maybe we should wait!  Learning to use one of those ever so sophisticated machines may take me a little longer to learn how to use. 

     The trip to Dayton was a blessing and an answered prayer as this past weekend Jeff became Pastor Jeff.  God is so amazing in that no matter how exhausted we became by the traveling, the blessing of Jeff’s ordination far out weighted the exhaustion!  After seeking God and praying for over one year for this to happen, I am humbled by how our Father answers prayers.   Prayer is so important, it is the communication line to our Father.  Are you praying daily for every area in your life, giving Him worship for all that you have, or is it only in need?    

     I am reminded daily of how important praying to God is and how having “God’s hand in our lives can be such a blessing!”  Billy Graham writes in one of his books exactly about this and I thought it would be appropriate to share with you all.  He writes:  “In the midst of the Lord’s Prayer are these familiar words:  “Give us this day our daily bread”  (Matt: 6:11).  They remind us that we are dependent on God for everything, and He is the giver of every blessing.  “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights” (James 1:17). 

     Some people say, “Why should I pray for my daily bread?  I can take care of my own needs!”  But listen:  If it weren’t for God’s love and grace, you wouldn’t have anything.  We need to pray this prayer every day, because we need to be reminded to trust God in everything.” 

Quote of the day:  Anonymous

“Therefore I live for today–Certain of finding at sunrise guidance and strength for the way.”

Bible verse of the day:  James 1:17

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for all that You do for me.  Father it is not enough to just seek You in prayer for some things in my life but for all things every day!  I thank You for all gifts that You have given me and for those I have yet to receive.  I thank You Christ, the greatest gift of all.  I pray for continued guidance through the rest of our trip and ask that You continue to be with us as we finalize the last parts of this move.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

