Story of the day:  Power of the saw

     “The story has been told of a do-it-yourselfer who went into a hardware store early one morning and asked for a saw.  The salesman took a chain saw from the shelf and commented that it was their “newest model, with the latest in technology, guaranteed to cut ten cords of firewood a day.”  The customer thought that sounded pretty good, so he bought it on the spot.

     The next day the customer returned, looking somewhat exhausted.  “Something must be wrong with this saw,” he moaned.  “I worked as hard as I could and only managed to cut three cords of wood.  I used to do four with my old-fashioned saw.”  Looking confused, the salesman said, “Here, let me try it out back on some wood we keep there.”  They went to the woodpile, the salesman pulled the cord, and as the motor went Vvvroooooommmmm, the customer leaped back and exclaimed, “What’s that noise?”

     The customer trying to saw wood without the power of the saw to help him is very much like the believer who attempts to live the Christian life without the daily empowerment of the Spirit.”

Quote of the day:  J. Hudson Taylor

“We have given too much attention to methods and to machinery and to resources, and too little to the Source of Power, the filling with the Holy Spirit.”

Bible verse of the day:  2 Peter 1:21

“for prophecy never came by the will of man, but holy men of God spoke as they were moved by the Holy Spirit.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for the power of the Holy Spirit, and for allowing my life to be empowered by the Holy Spirit.  As my days get busier, the new season that I am in, I pray for rest and to remain focused on Your Will and my family.  I pray to make the most of my time, and to especially find time for You daily, where I may come into Your presence and receive a refreshing and renewing of my mind and soul.  I thank You for Your gift and for another beautiful day.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

