Story of the day:  Contentment

     The Hope Health Letter (10/95) included this story:

     “Once upon a time, there was a man who lived with his wife, two small children, and his elderly parents in a tiny hut.  He tried to be patient and gracious, but the noise and crowded conditions wore him down.

     In desperation, he consulted the village wise man.  “Do you have a rooster?”  asked the wise man.

     “Yes,” he replied.

     “Keep the rooster in the hut with your family, and come see me again next week.”

     The next week, the man returned and told the wise elder that living conditions were worse than ever, with the rooster crowing and making a mess of the hut.

     “Do you have a cow?” asked the wise elder.  The man nodded fearfully.  “Take your cow into the hut as well, and come see me in a week.”

     Over the next several weeks, the man–on the advice of the wise elder–made room for a goat, two dogs, and his brother’s children.

     Finally, he could take no more, and in a fit of anger, kicked out all the animals and guests, leaving only his wife, his children, and his parents.  The home suddenly became spacious and quiet, and everyone lived happily ever after.”

Quote of the day:  Immanuel Kant

“Give a man everything he desires and yet at this very moment he will feel that everything is not everything.”

Bible verse of the day:  Philippians 4:11

“Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content:”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for the things that You have blessed me with.  I thank You for teaching me about contentment.  Father, life is too short to be worried about what I don’t have and that is not who You created me to be.  I pray to have my heart poured out on those that are in dire need of things and if I can in any way help, then let me be used as Your vessel in this regards.  I thank You for always knowing what my needs are and being there to provide for them.  You have never let me down and I have total faith in You to take care of me.  I thank You for this beautiful day! 

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. thedomesticfringe says:

    That was a good story. Thanks. How true it is!

  2. Christy says:

    I have to agree:) Have a blessed day!

    Christy:)

Leave a Reply

