Honesty is the best policy

Posted: December 9, 2008 in December 2008
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Story of the day:  Honesty is the best policy

     We have a rule in our family, if you tell the truth the first time, you won’t get into trouble.  If you don’t tell the truth the first time, then there will be consequences that accompany the lie.  I can always tell if my kids are being honest.  It’s something about their mannerisms that I can read to decipher whether they are being honest or not. 

     Most of us have been taught “that honesty is the best policy.”  We are taught  to be honest in schools, in our jobs, in our families, or wherever we go.  “But, honesty is not just the best policy” in schools, jobs, or families, “it is also God’s policy.  If we are to be servants worthy of His blessings, we must remember that truth is not just the best way; it is God’s way.”

     As parents, teachers, and employers, “we should understand the importance of character…and teach it.  Character is built slowly over a lifetime.  It is the sum of every right decision, every honest word, every noble thought, and every heartfelt prayer.  It is forged on the anvil of honorable work and polished by the twin virtues of generosity and humility.  Character is a precious thing–difficult to build, but easy to tear down; Let us value it and protect it at all costs.” (Family Christian Press)  

Quote of the day:  Warren Wiersbe

“Persons of true character are neither optimists nor pessimists, but realists who have confidence in God.”

Bible verse of the day:  Proverbs 16:13

“Righteous lips are the delight of kings, and they love him who speaks what is right.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I thank You that Your Word is Truth.  Father, I pray that the words that I speak and the things that I teach my children, my students, or whomever that You place in my path, are done with integrity and Your Truth.  I pray for protection against situations that may compromise who You have created me to be.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

