“Process of prayer resembles a nebula”

Posted: February 3, 2009 in February 2009
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Story of the day:  “Process of prayer resembles a nebula”

     In “Total Eclipse” Annie Dillard writes:

     The Ring Nebula, in the constellation Lyra, looks, through binoculars, like a smoke ring.  It is a star in the process of exploding.  Light from its explosion first reached the earth in 1054;  it was a supernova then, and so bright it shone in the daytime.  Now it is not so bright, but it is still exploding.  It expands at the rate of seventy million miles a day.  It is interesting to look through binoculars at something expanding seventy million miles a day.  It does not budge.  Its apparent size does not increase.  Photographs of the Ring of Nebula taken fifteen years ago seem identical to photographs of it taken yesterday.

     Craig Larson put his spin on the situation and said that “Huge happenings are not always visible to the naked eye–especially in the spiritual realm.  How often is it that this nebula resembles the process of prayer.  Sometimes we pray and pray and seemingly see no change in the situation.  But that’s only true from our perspective.  If we could see from Heaven’s standpoint, we would know all that God is doing and intending to do in our lives.  We would see God working in our hearts in ways we cannot know.  We would see God orchestrating circumstances that we know nothing about.  We would see a galaxy of details being set in place for the moment when God brings the answer to fulfillment.”

Quote of the day:  E. M. Bounds

“To pray is the greatest thing we can do, and to do it well, there must be calmness, time, and deliberation.”

Bible verse of the day:  Luke 18:1

“Then He spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart;”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Just as I can’t begin to understand the nebula in the Heavens, and I can’t see all the things that are unknown in my life, I am trusting in You to hear my prayers and for Your Will in my life to be done.  Although my prayers may not be answered in the time frame that I might be looking for, I know that You hear them and are working just as You do with the stars.  I thank You for taking care of me, watching over me, and for loving me enough to teach me patience, and humbleness in this entire process.  I thank You for this day and all that it will hold!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

