Calm through your storm

Posted: February 11, 2009 in February 2009

Story of the day:  Calm through your storm

     Last night we were hit with many storms across the area.  There were 60 mile an hour winds along with some homes and lives that were left demolished by twisters.  As the tornado sirens went off, we had our children take shelter in the bathroom.  Jeff and I watched the television, whenever the satellite permitted a picture,  for updates and prepared ourselves to join our children in the bathroom at any moment. 

     With flashlights ready, a radio prepared to use as an update device, and pillows to place over our heads, nothing could prepare me for what I heard.  In the midst of all the wind, hail, and lightning, I heard a more suble noise.  It came from the bathroom where my children were taking cover.  But this was no ordinary, frightening sound.  This sound was full of love, meekness, and boldness all at the same time.  This thing that I heard gave me peace and reminded me that God was in complete control.  It was my daughter praying to God to place His hand of shelter over our home and protect us from any harm that may come our way.  She prayed that God would calm the storm and that it would pass without causing any damage or loss of life, as the storms that passed earlier in the day from our neighboring state had done. 

     Just as quickly as the storm had brought the winds and hail, the storm quickly left, answering a prayer that Christen had cried out to God.  I am reminded in Psalm 107:28-29a  “then they cry out to the LORD in their trouble, and He brings them out of their distresses.  He calms the storm”    

     What storms of life are you facing today?  Have you cried out to God in your trouble so that He can calm your storm?  My prayer for you today is that you seek Him out in your situation so that you too can find calm through your storm.    

Quote of the day:  Stuart Briscoe

“We are called to depend on His strength.  If we can’t handle being dependent, we won’t ever become the kind of people who have a heart for God.”

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 107:29

“He calms the storm, so that its waves are still.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I am so grateful to You that You always calm the storms in my life.  I pray to always depend on You for every area in my life so that when the storms do hit, I can get through them.  I know that it won’t always be easy, but with You leading the way, I know that I am well taken care of.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

