God is in hot pursuit

Posted: February 23, 2009 in February 2009

Story and Quote of the day:  John Piper

“There is a kind of eagerness about the beneficence of God.  He does not wait for us to come to Him.  He seeks us out, because it is His good pleasure to do us good.  God is not waiting for us, He is pursuing us.  That, in fact, is the literal translation of Psalm 23:6, “Surely goodness and mercy shall pursue me all the days of my life.”  I have never forgotten how a great teacher once explained it to me.  He said God is like a highway patrolman pursuing you down the interstate with lights flashing and siren blaring to get you to stop–not to give you a ticket, but to give you a message so good it couldn’t wait until you get home.”

Bible verse of the day:  2 Chronicles 16:9a

“For the eyes of the LORD run to and fro throughout the whole earth, to show Himself strong on behalf of those whose heart is loyal to Him.” 

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for being in hot pursuit of my life.  Father, I pray to not let this busy life consume me, and become overwhelmed by the demands of my life.  As I  hear Your sweet voice call to me, I pray to savor every moment of quality time that I have with You and to embrace each day with Your Kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience that only You can give.   I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. […] Quote Of The Day added an interesting post on God is in hot pursuitHere’s a small excerptStory and Quote of the day:  John Piper “There is a kind of eagerness about the beneficence of God.  He does not wait for us to come to Him.  He seeks us out, because it is His good pleasure to do us good.  God is not waiting for us, He is pursuing us.  That, in fact, is the literal translation of Psalm 23:6, “Surely goodness and mercy shall pursue me all the days of my life.”  I have never forgotten how a great teacher once explained it to me.  He said God is like a highway patrolman pursu […]

Leave a Reply

