Working Meticulously

Posted: March 17, 2009 in March 2009

Story of the day:  Working Meticulously

     Bill Crowder wrote as a boy about one of the earliest memories he had of his dad and how he  loved to do paint-by-number pictures.  “The canvas was large, but the numbered segments where a predetermined color would go were very small.  Dad would sit in his chair in our basement for hours, working meticulously with his painting in front of him and a cup of coffee at his side.

     As a boy, I would sit on the basement stairs and watch with fascination.  My interest did not stem from a mis- guided thought that doing paint-by-number work made my dad a great artist.  Rather, I was amazed at how patiently he would work on each painting.  Finally, thousands of slivers of color became an image that Dad considered well worth the effort.

     As I think of my dad’s patience in bringing a painting to life, my heart is directed to our Heavenly Father.  He looks on us and sees the voids and imperfections in our lives, yet lovingly and patiently does His work in us to make us His masterpiece–a masterpiece that conforms to the image of His Son. (Romans 8:29).

     What a joy it is to have such a God, who makes us new and never tires of investing His energy and effort into our lives.”

Quote of the day:  Author Unknown

“Only God can transform a sin-stained soul into a masterpiece of grace.”

Bible verse of the day:  2 Corinthians 5:17

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I am so grateful that You see my voids and imperfections, and yet, you lovingly and patiently do Your work within me which creates a masterpiece.  This masterpiece is so great because it is one that conforms to the image of Your Son, Jesus.  I thank You for loving me and for this day that You have given as a gift.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen 

Leave a Reply

