God will open another                                                                                                                                                                                                      Story of the day:  Which way do I go Lord?

The story is told Of Andy Griffith, “star of the classic television program that bore his name, entered his fifties, he found it increasingly difficult to find work in Hollywood, and his personal finances became tighter and tighter.  He wrote in Guideposts that finally he and his wife Cindi decided things would be easier if they moved from Los Angeles back to Andy’s home state of North Carolina; so they put their home up for sale and waited for a buyer.  Unfortunately the real estate market was down, and no one gave them a decent offer for their home.  Months passed, and Andy grew depressed.

     Then one day, the Lord gave Cindi an insight.  “Maybe it’s a good thing we couldn’t sell the house,” she said.  “Maybe it was God showing us grace.  If we moved to North Carolina now, you might indeed never work again.  What we need to do is stay here and stoke the fire.”

     And stoke the fire they did.  Day after day they went together to the office of the talent agency that represented Andy.  They sat in the lobby, chatted with agents, and went with them to lunch.  Eventually the work started to come in:  four TV movies that year, including the pilot for Matlock, a show that ended up running for nine years.

  Quote of the day:  Craig Larson  

“Sometimes a closed door is a signpost from God.  He has a better way for us to go.” 

Bible verse of the day:  Revelation 3:7 (NKJV)

“And to the angel of the church in Philadelphia write, ‘These things says He who is holy, He who is true, “He who has the key of David, He who opens and no one shuts, and shuts and no one opens.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I can’t see what is behind a closed door.  But You can, and You always know what is best for Your children and I am blessed to have You watching over me and protecting me and my family from things that we cannot see.  Father just as one door closes, You open another.  One that is far better than the one that I chose. There are doors that I probably wouldn’t have known to open had You not shared them with me.  My joy rests in You and the things that You have planned for me and my family.  I treasure each day and every door that You give!  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. ransom33 says:

    Wise words indeed! My husband and I are currently in a situation where one door has unexpectedly closed and we are waiting on the Lord to reveal to us where we are heading next.

    At times, it is awfully hard to just sit and wait, but by faith we keep believing he will guide us in our steps.

    Thank you for your post.

    God bless you

    ransom33 @ http://www.ransom33.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

