Wrestling with yourself about forgiving?

Posted: April 15, 2009 in April 2009
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The Grinch                                                                                                                                                                                     Quote of the day:  Wrestling with yourself about forgiving?

     Have you ever seen a wrestling match?  It usually consists of two people that are clinching, holding, and locking in some sort of engagement to beat their opponent.  But, I have never been to a wrestling match where it was only one person trying to defeat himself.  In the movie, The Grinch, Jim Carrey, an actor who plays the actual Grinch, depicts the wrestling matches that he has with himself.  In one scene that stands out, he has been invited to a Jubilee.  But because of the hurt that one Who had caused, he wasn’t sure if he wanted to go, and he began to wrestle with himself about it.  He says, “Never those Who’s, inviting me down there, on such short notice.  Even if I wanted to go, my schedule wouldn’t allow it.”  He looks at his schedule and says, “4:00 wallow in self-pity,  4:30 stare into the abyss, 5:00 solve world hunger and tell no one, 5:30 jazzersize, 6:30 dinner with me-I can’t cancel that again, 7:00 wrestle with myself loathing.  I’m booked, course if I bump the loathing to 9:00, I can still be done in time to lay in bed, stare at the ceiling, and slip slowly into madness, but what would I wear?”  He continues to struggle with himself about going, but can’t seem to make the decision.  Finally, his dog, pulls a cord, which sends him sliding all the way to Whoville. 

     Because he had wrestled with himself about not liking the Who’s,  he began to feel sorry for himself.  And the hatred he  had for the Who’s had caused his heart to shrink to an oblivion because of the way that he had been treated.  Or maybe, he just liked being mistreated and left alone.  Or did he?  No one ever wishes to be mistreated and alone.  God didn’t design us that way.  Maybe, just maybe the Grinch didn’t know how to start over.  Many times, our hurts can cause us to be more like the Grinch than we think.  If someone doesn’t call and check on us, or if unwise words seem to find their way to our ears, or someone has blatantly just hurt our feelings, we tend to place those feelings deep within our hearts, causing the shrinkage of love for others.    

     So how do we move past this point of abyss and stop wrestling with our self?  Well, let’s take a look at how the Grinch resolves this issue and apply it spiritually to our lives.  The Grinch had just taken all the Who’s Christmas items just so they could be as hurt as he had been.  Isn’t that what we do, because we have been hurt, we think that we should hurt the person that has hurt us by not speaking to them or by placing our self on their level.  In this case, one Who hurt the Grinch, and because of that one person who hurt him, he was now going to make the entire Who’s Christmas as miserable as he could.  But it didn’t go the way that he had planned.  The Who’s were not sulking in their beds, sad and upset, instead they began to sing merrily even with all of their things gone.  He couldn’t understand why the Who’s were so happy.  What happened then?  The Grinch’s heart grew 3 sizes that day and he began to see things in a new light.  But why did his heart grow?  In this part of the movie the Grinch recognized how wrong he had been and wanted to asked for forgiveness.  When he saw things in a different light, he was able to forgive those that had hurt him.  Seems a little like the relationship we have with our Father in Heaven.  He sees our hearts and knows that if we can see things in His Light, though His Son, that our hearts can grow 3 times the size that it actually is  if we are willing to ask for forgiveness and to forgive others as God has forgiven us.  

Quote of the day:  The Grinch    

“You caught me officer. I did it, I’m the Grinch that stole Christmas, and I’m sorry.  

Bible verse of the day: Matthew 6:14

“For if you forgive men their trespasses, your Heavenly Father will also forgive you.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

It is not always easy to forgive those that have hurt us.  I pray that You grow my heart 3 times it’s size so that I can see things in a different light and just as You have forgiven, I am able to forgive.  I thank You for forgiving me of the things that I have done and for showing me when I need to ask for forgiveness.  I love You and thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

