Story of the day:  Let go of self efforts

A story is told of a swimmer who saves his group member:

A group of believers was meeting by a river when one of their group fell into the water.  It was obvious that the poor fellow couldn’t swim, as he thrashed about wildly.  One of the believers was a strong swimmer and was called on to jump in and save the man before he drowned.  But though able to save the drowning man, he just watched until the wild struggles subsided.  Then he dove in and pulled the man to safety. 

When the rescue was over, the rescuer explained his slowness to act.  “If I had jumped in immediately, he would have bee strong enough to drown us both.  Only by waiting until he was exhausted to try to save himself, could I save him.”

It seems to be all to easy for us to be like that drowning man.  Our self efforts can prevent us from being saved!  Unfortunately, some people must reach the point of being too exhausted to continue trying to save themselves (by dealing with their own sin) before they become willing to trust in the Savior and accept his gift of salvation. [Cited in 1500 Illustrations for Biblical Preaching]

Quote of the day:  Jack Odell

“Salvation is moving from living death to deathless life.”

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 27:1 (NKJV)

“The LORD is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear?  The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for sending Your Son Jesus to jump in and rescue me from myself.  There is no greater love than that!  Father, You have bridged the gap in my life and have shown me that it’s not about me, and it’s all about You.  I am so grateful for the Gift of Salvation through Jesus.  My words of appreciation seem so small to all You have done, yet it’s all I want to do.  Today and everyday, I give You glory and praise, and I love You from the depth of my soul.  I pray that You fill my cup with Your Living Water so that it may overflow with love for others.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen 

Leave a Reply

