Story and Quote of the day:  New things to entice us

When I was in my early teens, I was positive the day would never come when I would be sixteen and eligible to drive a car.  Than, at sixteen, I wanted to own a car, and I wanted to go to college.  In college, I wanted to fall in love with a girl, get married, and be a dad.  But every time I attained one of my goals, it wasn’t enough to satisfy.  My goals were, and are, good goals–but my joy mustn’t depend on what I have yet to attain, because we quickly find that what we have yet to posses is a bottomless well.  As long as Madison Avenue knows which of our buttons to push, there will always be something new enticing us. 

At every stage Jesus was content with what the Father had provided.  So must we be. Nick Harrison

Bible verse of the day:  Luke 12:15 (NKJV)

“And He said to them, “Take heed and beware of covetousness, for ones life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for always providing the things that I need.  You even know before I ask.  I pray for enticing things to leave me in hopes that I can humbly move beyond them.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

