Story of the day:  Pulling Teeth

Didn’t you love pulling your teeth as a child?  Once my teeth began to show signs of a wiggle, I was right in there with my tissue paper, trying to get it out.  If it was really lodged in there and I didn’t have time to use a tissue (mostly because I was in school), my tongue helped to wiggle it around to loosen it even more.  I don’t even think I paid attention in school that day (sorry to all my teachers), because my main mission that day was to get the tooth out, and out would come.

Our middle son has started to lose the last of his baby teeth, the ones that usually come out around 9 years of age.  Well, one tooth in particular was trapped with some tissue from the swollen gums.  I don’t know what it is about my kiddos, but 2 of the 3 don’t like to pull their teeth out.  They will let the teeth hang in there for as a long as they possibly can.  At first, he didn’t want to pull it out, because when you looked at the swollen gums wrapped around one tiny part of the tooth, it did appear to have some painful qualities.  You could see the other tooth trying to sprout up, but it was being hindered by the baby tooth that wasn’t coming out.

I told Jeffrey that he needed to wiggle it around a little more so that it would come out.  Eventually, I was able to talk him into moving it around more with his tongue.  Man, I wanted to get in there and pull it out.  But, I didn’t, I waited until he gave me the okay and as soon as he said okay, I was in there, like a child picking up candy from a broken pinata.  His gums were a little swollen for a day after, but eventually the swelling went down and the new tooth has begun to show its self. 

I began thinking about this some more, and spiritually our sin is like that loose tooth.  It’s just hanging around, swelling things up in our life, and hindering the new tooth, or in our spiritual walk, all that God has intended for our life.  Eventually, that old tooth begins to fuse together with the new tooth by the swollen gums.  Isn’t that how life begins to look as well.  If we have sin in our life, the sin starts to look normal to us, to a point that we don’t even recognize the new tooth. 

I want to encourage you to go ahead and pull that tooth out, confess that sin to God, and allow the new tooth or your life to sprout up and grow in the direction that God has planned.

Quote of the day:  Oswald Chambers

“Whenever God touches sin it is independence that is touched, and that awakens resentment in the human heart.  Independence must be blasted clean out, there must be no such thing left, only freedom, which is very different.  Freedom is the ability not to insist on my rights, but to see that God gets His.”

Bible verse of the day:  1 John 1:7

“but if we walk in the light as he himself is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for loving me as much as You do.  Your Son, Jesus wiped my debt and has forgiven me of my sins.  I stand before You this day as Your child.  I am so blessed and grateful to call You my Friend.  You are One that shares with me Your Mercy and Grace, and have reached down from Heaven and You have pulled my tooth from it’s root of sin and have made a path for my new tooth to shine as bright as can be.  I thank You for that and for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

