Finding Something Familiar from Something Familiar

Posted: July 2, 2009 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  Finding Something Familiar from Something Unfamiliar

Jeff and I just got back from New Mexico after looking for a place to live.  I think I was a little shocked in the beginning, not knowing what to expect from this new area.  It’s not like I haven’t been in the same situation before, the moving around, but I think this just seemed to have hit me a little harder than any other time. 

We drove for 14+ hours one way and arrived in Rio Rancho, our new location for the next 4 years, or until God sends us elsewhere.  The next day would consist of searching for a place to live, getting kids enrolled in school, and trying to get the water, electricity, and gas all turned on before we left back to Texas.  Our time was limited there, so we had to make sure all this was done and done quick.  The shock of the desert seemed to throw me for a loop.  Everywhere I turned, there was sand from the desert and it seemed to be highlighted by pebbles and tumbleweeds, literally blowing in the wind.  There was and is hardly a lick of grass anywhere.

One thing that I could always count on to be there in the same spot, were the beautiful mountains.  They stood the same each and every day, not moving, always giving me a sense of direction.  God began to show me through the beauty of that mountain, how the mountain, like my Wonderful God, is always consistently there, the Familiar in the unfamiliar, shielding me from the harsh elements of the desert.  God woke my soul to the beauty of the mountain’s consistency of always being there in the same spot, no matter which way I went, and it is a constant reminder of the Love that that God has for me no matter where I go. 

Quote of the day:  Gail Sheehy 

“If we don’t change, we don’t grow.  If we don’t grow, we are not really living.  Growth demands a temporary surrender of security.”

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 33:11

“The counsel of the LORD stands forever, the thoughts of his heart to all generations.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I am so grateful that You are always there, a constant in my life.  The times when I feel so vulnerable, You are there to help me, guide me, and give me the direction that I need.  Father, I am so excited about our move to New Mexico.  I look forward, as I do each and every day, of sharing Your Word with others and living my life to serve You.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

I began to pray and ask God to help me find something familiar in this new town.  As I began to search my heart, God began to show me so many different needs that are in this area.  My heart began to be filled with the overwhelming love to share with others in this area.

Leave a Reply

