God’s Guidance + Our Obedience = Fruit of the Spirit

Posted: July 13, 2009 in July 2009
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Story of the day:  God’s Guidance + Our Obedience = Fruit of the Spirit

Author Gary Thomas, founder for Evangelical Spirituality, writes in Discipleship Journal:

When my wife and I prayed extensively about buying a house, we gave God many opportunities to close the door.  God appeared to bless the move.  Five years later, our house is worth considerably less than what we paid for it.

“Why didn’t God stop us?” my wife and I kept wondering.  After all, we had given Him plenty of opportunities.  But one day as my wife was praying, she sensed God asking her, “Have you ever considered the possibility that I wanted you in that neighborhood to minister there rather than to bolster your financial equity?”

We thought of the people we have been able to reach, and then asked ourselves, are we willing to surrender to a God who would lead us to make a decision that turned out to be undesirable financially but profitable spiritually?  Does obedience obligate God to bless us, or can obedience call us to sacrifice?  Think about the cross before you answer that one.

Quote of the day:  Terry Fullam

“The fruit of the Spirit grows only in the garden of obedience.”

Bible verse of the day:  Romans 12:2

“And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Our time here in Dallas is winding down and as sad as I always seem to get at moving and missing the people that I have gotten to know, I get even more excited at what is to come in New Mexico.  These next few weeks of the move are a little challenging for writing, as we are not in one area that long.  I ask for Grace through this transition and I pray that we hear and watch for opportunities to witness, evangelize, and love others as You do.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

