Story of the day:  “The Worry Wart”

     What comes to mind when you think of the phrase, “The Worry Wart?”  I picture a person consistently pacing the halls, scratching their head, and trying profusely to try and figure out the situation.  I will be the first to admit that a couple of weeks ago, I began to bear a burden of worry that I didn’t need to worry about.  If any of you know me, I am usually the last to worry about things, but this one particular thing had taken hold of me, or should I say, I let it take hold of me, and it rooted itself as worry in my life.  I sat down with Jeff, my dad, and my mom and shared with them what struggles were causing me to bend out of shape. 

As I listened to my father’s words of wisdom on the matter of worry, he said, “Honey, why are you worrying about something that you can’t control and have you given this over to God?  Control.  Now there’s another word that seems to go hand in hand with the word worry.  So, all I needed to do was release the reigns of control, hand it over to God, and my worry was gone?  How simple is that?  This is nothing new that I haven’t heard before, yet as simple as it was, I wasn’t relinquishing the control  “Worry Wart” cycle and it  was doing what it was meant to do, which was causing me to worry and take my focus off of God. 

You see friends, when I planted that seed of worry in my life, it began to sprout up and take on the attributes of a “Worry Wart.”  I began to feed it with my endless thoughts of “what ifs,” and it began to consume me, even if it was for that small moment in time.  Billy Graham said it best in Hope for Each Day, “Worrying about what might happen makes even the smallest trouble seem huge.  Nervously anticipating troubles that may never happen can crush our spirit.”

What should we do about this thing called worry?  I can tell you what the Bible tells us to do.  In Matthew 25-34, the Bible tells us, “Do not worry.”  How simple is that?  Wow, I was given two things that are so simplistic and yet so very effective.  I quickly began to pray and ask God for forgiveness for wanting to control a situation that I was completely not in control of.  And just as quickly as the worry came into my life, the worry quickly left.  It had been uprooted and a seed of God’s Word from John 14:27 was planted in its stead.  The verse says, “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you.  Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”  

Quote of the day:  Author Unknown

“Worry is an old man with a bent head, carrying a load of feathers he thinks is lead.”

Bible verse of the day:  John 14:27

“Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you.  Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I can only imagine what it must look like to see Your Child worrying about things that are completely out of their control.  Thank You Jesus for showing me how much time and energy I wasted by allowing that seed of worry to grow in my life.  Thank You for showing me how to overcome it and recognize when new seeds even start to want to take root.  I am so grateful for handing over those reigns of trying to control that situation and for recognizing that no matter the outcome, I am in Your Hands and that You will take care of me.  I love You Father and I am so humbled by Your Grace and how You continue to show me so much Love and Mercy.  I pray that Your peace falls upon me so that my heart is not troubled and is not afraid.  

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. Tanya says:

    blessings to you for writting a post on this.

Leave a Reply

