Story of the day:  Which road do we take?

There are many roads in life that we come across.  Deciding which to take can sometimes be a challenge.  So when we come to a fork in our life, which road do we take?  Vernon Grounds wrote in Grooves of Grace this exact situation.  He writes:

A man was traveling in Canada one springtime when frost and melting snow made it nearly impossible to drive farther.  He came to a crossroads and saw a sign that said, “Take care which rut you choose.  You will be in it for the next 25 miles.”  That’s a wise warning for all of us–and not just when we’re driving in rough road conditions.

Whenever we come to a crossroads in life, what choice do we make?  In other words, in what direction will we travel and what habits–which ruts of routine–will we establish?

A habit is a pattern of behavior that we follow consistently.  We need to decide prayerfully what habits we will practice.  Will our habits be mere ruts of routine?  Or will they become “grooves of grace?”

Good health habits are important, but spiritual disciplines are far more important.  Are we choosing to develop consistent habits of prayer, Bible reading, and kindness?

A habit is just a rut of routine.  But good spiritual discipline can transform our ruts into grooves of grace.

Quote of the day:  Hess

“In the beginning we make our habits; in the end our habits make us.”

Bible verse of the day: 1 Corinthians 9:27 (NIV)

“No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Forks in the road come at all different times of our lives.  I seek to always be prayed up so that with Your Guidance, I may choose the right road.  I pray that I continue to develop all the great attributes that lead to Spiritual discipline so that my life may mirror You in it.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

