It will bring a harvest

Posted: September 3, 2009 in September 2009
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Story of the day:  It will bring a harvest

In Leadership, Graham R. Hodges writes:

When I was a boy milking several cows each morning and night, I dreaded the cocklebur season.  In late summer, this prolific weed turned brown, and its seed pods, each armed with dozens of sharp spines, caught in the cows’ tails until the animals’ fly switchers were transformed into mean whips.  One hard switch of such a tail in the milker’s face made him lose considerable religion.

So I learned to hate the cocklebur.

Later, comfortably removed from the dairy industry, I learned a remarkable fact about the cocklebur:  its sticky seed pod contains several seeds, not just one.  And these seeds germinate in different years.  Thus, if seed A fails to sprout next year because of a drought, seed B will be there waiting for the year after next, and seed C the year after that, waiting until the right conditions for germination to arrive.

Quote of the day:  Graham R Hodges

“The genius of the cocklebur pod is much like that of the spiritual seed we plant in the lives of others.  People don’t always respond to God’s Word immediately.  But the seed is planted, and when the time is ripe, it will bring a harvest.”

Bible verse of the day: Isaiah 55:11 (NIV)

“so is my word that goes out from my mouth:  It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Your Word is so powerful.  All it takes is for one Word to permeate into the lives of others to see something marvelous grow, to see a magnificent harvest.  It is so amazing to see how You have transformed lives and how people become completely changed.  Father, I go out in joy, led by peace, to serve You in the only way that I know how, and that is through love.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

