Story of the day:  Our needy world may just be next door.

Jill Briscoe writes:

Years ago, as I waited in line at a local shop, I heard the gossip.  My neighbor’s husband had left her.  The night before he had packed his things into a van and driven out of her life.

I knew my neighbors casually.  when we did speak, which wasn’t often, it was about the weather.  Our subdivision was the type where people led their own lives and neighbors didn’t really get to know one another.

When I returned home, I struggled with what to do.  Should I visit my neighbor, or pretend I knew nothing about her situation and go on with my day?  In my mind I could see her sitting at her kitchen table, alone.  She was in her fifties and the kids were grown.

Finally, I got up the courage and walked over to her house.  When she opened her door, I said, “I heard through the grapevine your husband left you last night.  Can I do anything to help?”

Immediately, she burst into tears and said, “Come in.  Come in.”  I spent the entire morning with her–listening, putting my arm around her, and having coffee.  But it was the start of a relationship.                 [Can a Busy Christian Develop Her Spiritual Life?]

Quote of the day:  Craig Larson

“Sometimes when we think of a needy world, we think of far away places and masses of people in desperate circumstances.  In reality, our needy world might be right next door.”

Bible verse of the day:  Luke 10:33 (NKJV)

“But a certain Samaritan, as he journeyed, came where he was.  And when he saw him, he had compassion.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

You have clearly written in Your Word to love your neighbor as yourself.  The question was asked in Luke, “Who is my neighbor?”  Father, Your answer is so clear that our neighbor is anyone that we should show mercy on and take care of, whether they live next door or not.  Father, I pray that my heart continues to soften each day and that my love for people grows into a love that mirrors Your love.  I pray that I deny myself and pick up my cross daily and walk in Your desired path for my life.  I love You and thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Anna King says:

    Hi,

    I am Anna King from Destiny Center & I know it can be hard to meet new people when you move to a new area. I will likely be at most services this weekend at the after service prayer time. I am 5 ft 4 in with long brown hair (with a some graying).

    I would like to meet you. I have talked to you on the phone. I would like to help you make new friends. You might want to consider volunteering for something you love to do.

    Please check out the Design you destiny class the 3rd Sunday of the month at 6:15. You don’t have to take the classes in order.

    I will also be at the Destiny Center event this Friday at 6:30. I will look for you guys there as well. I hope it works out for either you or your husband to come.

    Yours,

    Anna King
    Care Pastor
    Please feel free to call me at my evening home number: 994-4562

  2. […] the original post here: Our needy world may just be next door. « Quote Of The Day :and-pick, cross, cross-daily, deny-myself, desired-path, for-people, grows-into, heart-, […]

  3. Christy says:

    Hello Anna,

    Jeff and I will be attending this Friday night, but won’t be there on Sunday, because we are heading out of town and won’t be back until late Monday night. We look forward to meeting you!

    Christy:)

Leave a Reply

