Story of the day:  Shaking up our roots

You have probably heard me say before that not too many people like change.  Change can be difficult, especially once we have gotten “comfortable” where we are.  It becomes easier to stay than to move.  I found a riveting story that Jan Riggenbach wrote about.  She says,

Giving new bedding plants some rough treatment at planting time,” she says, “may be the best thing you can do to help them survive in the garden.  When I was new to gardening, I tried to set tomatoes, petunias, and other bedding plants in the garden without disturbing their roots at all.  Nowadays, I’m much more ruthless…”

Riggenbach says she squeezes the bottoms of the flexible plastic pots to get the plants out of their container and then she inspects the soil ball.

“If the plant has been growing in its pot so long that the roots are circling the bottom,” says Riggenbach, “I jab my finger into the bottom of the soil and pull down to untangle the roots…If the whole pot is filled with circling roots, I have to be merciless.  I don’t worry if I break some of the roots; that’s better than allowing the roots to continue to circle when the plants are growing in the garden.  Most bedding plants shrug off this rough treatment.”

Christians often resemble rootbound plants.  We grow complacent and comfortable where we are.  Our roots circle around and around in the same small area, no longer reaching out for life and nourishment and growth.  The healthiest thing God can do for us is shake up our roots and put us in new soil.  [Riggenbach, Jan.  Midwest Gardening.  Daily Harold, 8 May 1994.]

Quote of the day:  Ralph Waldo Emerson

“People wish to be settled.  Only as far as they are unsettled is there any hope for them.”

Bible verse of the day:  John 15:2

“Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit He prunes, that it may bear more fruit.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I pray to be stirred up and moved around so that I don’t get comfortable where I am.  May my branches be pruned so that I may bear more fruit.  I pray to not circle as the plants do in the same area, but that I am reaching out for more soil and nourishment from Your Word and Your Grace.  I love You and thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

 

Leave a Reply

