Story of the day:  Focus

Tom Friends of The New York Times asked coach Jimmy Johnson what he told his players before leading the Dallas Cowboys onto the field for the 1993 Super Bowl.

“I told them that if I laid a two-by-four across the floor, everybody there would walk across it and not fall, because our focus would be on walking the length of that board.  But if I put that same board ten stories high between two buildings, only a few would make it, because the focus would be on falling.”

Johnson told his players not to focus on the crowd, the media, or the possibility of falling, but to focus on each play of the game as if it were a good practice session.  The Cowboys won the game 52-7.

A Christian must not focus on the negative, but only on what is “excellent or praiseworthy”

Quote of the day:  Rollo May

“It is an old and ironic habit of human beings to run faster when we have lost our way.”

Bible verse of the day:  Philippians 4:8 (NKJV)

“Finally, brethren. whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy–meditate on these things.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I pray to live a focused life that is pleasing to You.  May I meditate on things that are true, noble, just, pure, and lovely.  I pray to not run in the opposite direction or faster when I lose my way, but that I run into Your arms, a place that knows me from the inside out and loves me unconditionally.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

