Propelled by a gentle breeze

Posted: November 5, 2009 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  Propelled by a gentle breeze

Perhaps you have spent some time in a sailboat.  Relying on the boat to stay afloat, you slide across the water propelled by a gentle breeze.  Yet within the confines of the shores, you have the opportunity and responsibility of guiding the rudder to determine the direction of travel.

Is that not similar to living within the will of God?  As Christians we must rest upon God to sustain us, and upon the breath of his Spirit to empower us.  Yet within his moral boundaries, we each have the opportunity and responsibility to determine our course. [Larson, Brian.  750 Engaging Illustrations for preachers, teachers, and writers. Grand Rapids: Baker Publishing Group.  pg. 222-223.]

Quote of the day:  Chuck Swindoll

“He carries you from the unknown to the known and then backs off and says, “Now its your turn.”

Bible verse of the day:  Romans 12:2 (The Message Bible)

“Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking.  Instead, fix your attention on God.  You’ll be changed from the inside out.  Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it.  Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Today I rest upon  You to sustain me in every way, and the breath of Your Spirit to empower me as I head into my day.  Let me open my ears and heart to Your Gentle words that speak to me, guiding me in my life.  Father, You have my attention.  May I recognize the things that You are asking of me this day, and quickly respond to it. Thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

