Story of the day:  Love is found in many ways

In Rhythms of the Heart, Phil Hook writes:

My mother and I did not “mix.”  I chose a typical teenage solution to the problem–silence.

I would leave for school in the morning, come home to eat, then leave again.  When I was finally home late at night, I read books.

Invariable, my mother would come downstairs and ask me if I wanted a sandwich.  I grunted my assent.  She cooked egg ad bacon sandwiches for me night after night until I left home for good.

Years later, when our relationship was mended, she told me why she had made all those sandwiches.  “If you would ever talk to me, it was while I made that sandwich,” she said.

Hook writes, “I’ve learned love is found in a consistent display of interest, commitment, sacrifice, and attention.” [As abridged in The Christian Reader, May/June 1995, 34.]

Quote of the day:  Mother Teresa

“I have found the paradox that if I love until it hurts, then there is no more hurt, but only more love.”

Bible verse of the day:  1 Corinthians 13:7

“Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for love, especially Your Love.  Father may I wake each day and live the days to their fullest, sharing love with all those around me.  May You rain down on me with Your love, Grace, and Mercy, that I in turn will spill over into this world with the same love, grace, and mercy that You have given to me.  May I make each day, each moment count in all that I do.  I love You and thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

