Call of Duty-Part 4

Posted: January 12, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Story of the day:  Call of Duty-Part 4

This concludes the last section of the four-part series titled, Call of Duty.  I am ending this section called Executing your call (Getting the job done) and don’t become complacent or a complainer.  It’s easy when things become routine because we seem to like to be comfortable right where we are, yet this is the place that we do the most complaining.  It’s as if we begin to rely on other things in place of where our faith and obedience to God should be.

I am reminded of a story found in General Patton’s Principles for Life and Leadership, Gen. George S. Patton Jr. says:

Picking the right leader is the most important task of any commander.  I line up the candidates and say, “Men, I want a trench dug behind warehouse ten.  Make this trench eight feet long, three feet wide and six inches deep.

While the candidates are checking their tools out at the warehouse, I watch them from a distance.  They puzzle over why I want such a shallow trench.  They argue over whether six inches is deep enough for a gun replacement.  Some complain that such a trench should be dug with power equipment.  Others gripe that it is too hot or too cold to dig.  If the men are above the rank of lieutenant, there will be complaints that they should not be doing such lowly labor.  Finally, one man will order, “What difference does it make what [he] wants to do with this trench!  Let’s get it dug and get out of here.”

That man will get the promotion.  Pick the man who can get the job done!

Quote of the day: Craig Larson

“Like Patton, sometimes God gives us jobs to see how we respond, but most of all, He is looking for obedience and faithfulness in getting the job done.”

Bible verse of the day: Hebrews 10:38

“But my righteous one will live by faith.  And if he shrinks back, I will not be pleased with him.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

From before I was born, You already had the plan set up for my life.  As I walk in the direction that You have for me, may I not become complacent or a complainer, but that I keep moving forward and persevering to the end.  I pray that my faith and obedience in all that I do for Your Kingdom brings You all the Glory, Honor, and Praise.  I love You and thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

