Story of the day: What’s your sense of direction?

There’s a story about a man who lived in northern Michigan and decided to take a walk in a densely forested area. When darkness began to settle in, he decided it was time to head for home. He was familiar with hiking in the woods and felt he had a keen sense of direction, so he didn’t bother to look at his compass.

After walking for a long time, though, he decided he’d better check it. He was surprised to see that the compass indicated he was going west–not east as he had thought. But he was so sure of his own sense of direction that he concluded there must be something wrong with the compass. He was about to throw it away in disgust when this thought came to him: My compass has never lied to me yet, maybe I should believe it. He chose to follow its direction and soon found his way out of the woods and back home. [RWD]

So often we too can find ourselves lost in an area that we thought we knew pretty well. Maybe we think we can handle certain situations, or be a part of something that isn’t good for us.  And just like this gentleman, we think we can find our own way out of situation not needing the help of our compass, but instead we find ourselves completely lost and not knowing where to go. When you feel that you have lost your way, don’t discount God’s Word, because it will always point you in the right direction.

Quote of the day: Carter

“The Bible always points the believer in the right direction.”

Bible verse of the day: 1 Kings 8:58 (NKJV)

“that He may incline our hearts to Himself, to walk in all His ways, and to keep His commandments and His statutes and His judgments, which He commanded our fathers.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I pray that You lead me by Your Word, which is my compass in all things that I do. Father, when I find myself in unknown territory, may I presume not to know it all and that I can fix any situation. I pray to rely on You for every decision that I make and that it brings You honor and glory! I love you and thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen


Leave a Reply

