Let Him Work in and Through You

Posted: March 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

Story of the day: Let Him Work in and Through You

Household sponges are amazingly versatile. We use them to wash dishes, mop floors, bathe children, and clean cars. What makes them so useful is that they can absorb and release liquid over and over again.

There’s a spiritual principle here, expressed by Andrew Murray: “Wherever there is life, there is a continual interchange of taking in and giving out…The one depends on the other–the giving out ever increases the power of taking in..It is only in the emptiness that comes from the parting with what we have, that the divine fullness can flow in.”

Jesus invited thirsty people to come to Him and drink (John 7:37). First and foremost, He was speaking to people who needed to put their faith in Him, allowing His Spirit to fill them with the joy of salvation.

In another sense, when you live for Christ and serve Him, you will recognize the continual need for His Spirit to fill you so He can work in and through you. Perhaps you are experiencing a heart-wringing trial and you feel dry and thirsty today. Imagine a dry sponge in your hand, ready to absorb more water. Let it teach you that only those who recognize their need for living water will find their thirst satisfied by Christ. [JEY, Our Daily Bread: Are you thirsty again? July 14, 2002.]

Quote of the day: Peterson

“A thirst for God can only be satisfied by Christ, the Living Water.”

Bible verse of the day: John 7:37 (NIV)

“On the last and greatest day of the Feast, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I come to You this day and I drink from Your Living Water. Father, I pray that You fill me with Your guidance in all decisions that I make. Whatever my day holds, whether I be on top of a mountain or in the valley, may my thirst absorb Your Living Water and be overflowing with Your Grace and Mercy into my life. I love You Father, and I am thankful to You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

