Put the Lord First, Joy Follows

Posted: March 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

Story of the day: Put the Lord First, Joy Follows

Dr. Larry Crabb has this to say about happiness, he writes:

Many of us place top priority not on becoming Christ like in the middle of our problems but on finding happiness. I want to be happy but the paradoxical truth is that I will never be happy if I am concerned primarily with becoming happy. My overriding goal must be in every circumstance to respond biblically, to put the Lord first, to seek to behave as He would want me to. The wonderful truth is that as we devote all of our energies to the task of becoming what Christ wants us to be, He fills us with joy unspeakable and a peace far surpassing what the world offers. I must firmly and consciously by an act of my will reject the goal of becoming happy and adopt the goal of becoming more like the Lord. The result will be happiness for me as I learn to dwell at God’s right hand in fellowship with Christ.

The next time you grapple with a personal problem (perhaps right now), ask yourself, “Why do I want to solve this problem?” If the honest answer is, “So I can be happy,” you are miles away from the biblical solution. What then can you do? Adopt by a conscious, definite, thunderously decisive act of the will a different goal: “I want to solve this problem in a way that will make me more like the Lord. Then I will be able to worship God more fully and serve Him more effectively.”  [Crabb, Dr. Larry. Effective Biblical Counseling. Grand Rapids: Zondervan Publishing House. 1977.]

Quote of the day: Dr. Crabb

“Begin to worship Him by thanking Him for what disturbs you most.”

Bible verse of the day: 2 Corinthians 5:15 (NKJV)

“and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I pray for eyes to see problems not as problems but rather as a way for me to solve them biblically so that I may serve and worship You effectively. Thank You for being a great example of how I should live my life and serve others. I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

