He kept His eye on the Father

Posted: April 8, 2010 in April 2010
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Story of the day: He kept His eye on the Father

I have been reading this book titled, Telling Yourself the Truth, and one section I found to be so relevant to a time in my life that I was more interested in pleasing people than God. I wanted to share this with you all, and pray to those of You that may be struggling with this now. Author William Backus and Marie Chapian writes:

The philosophy that says you should be liked and appreciated by one and all is not only silly, it’s non-biblical. If you are learning techniques to please influence, and persuade people, what are your motives? Are you saying to yourself, “I must be important to someone–I must be liked–I must be accepted–I must…”?

Let’s assume your “musts” aren’t fulfilled after all. Suppose people still don’t particularly like you after you work diligently to gain their approval? Suppose someone actually hates the sight of you–outwardly rejects you?

The Bible does not teach us to please everybody on earth. It does not tell us to work overtime trying to get people to love us. Jesus never told us to go out and take a course in how to get people to like us. He told us to love Him, trust Him, have faith in Him, glorify Him, and to genuinely care about others.

Jesus himself wasn’t loved by everyone and still isn’t. Many have found fault with Him. When He was alive on earth He made the leaders and molders of public opinion quite upset with His social behavior. He befriended prostitutes and thieves and sought the company of traitorous tax gatherers This did not make Him “Mr. Popular” with the religious folk. In fact, many of the things He did didn’t win him friends. People found fault with just about everything He did. But He wasn’t devastated by what others thought of Him because He kept His eye on the Father and doing His Will.

In fact, He had joy through it all and says to us, “My joy I give to you.” Jesus didn’t live to please people. He lived to please His Father in Heaven. [Backus, William & Marie Chapian. Telling Yourself the Truth. Bloomington: Bethany House Publishers. 2000. pgs. 67-68].

Quote of the day: William Baccus/Marie Chapian

“Nobody other than you has the power to make you miserable. That power is yours alone.”

Bible verse of the day: Galatians 1:10 (NKJV)

“For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I still pleased men, I would not be a bondservant o Christ.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You so much for showing me what it means to truly walk with You. Father, I find that when I am connected with You, the things that would bug me before don’t seem as important as they once did. I find that I can be more forgiving of others, quick to reconcile, and love them the way that You have asked me to love them. Thank You for shining the light on this area in my life, because for the longest time, I was a people pleaser, and now I find rest in knowing that my desire is to only please You. I love You and I am thankful for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

