Story of the day: Running on thin ice?

There was a man one day whose wife was very ill. It was in the frontier days and he had to get to a pace that had medicine to save his wife’s life. The only problem was that it was wintertime and in order to get to the person with the medicine, he had to cross a lake. The lake had been iced over. His wife’s life depended upon it, so he had to get up and cross this cold lake that had now been covered with ice. He was terrified. He was concerned that the ice would break. Sacred to death but spurned on by love for his wife, he got down on his hands and knees and inched along, ever so carefully.

All of a sudden, he felt a rumbling on the ice. He was even more terrified. Maybe the ice was cracking. The rumbling got louder. It became thunderous. The man was living in terror. But as the noise got closer, he looked up behind him and saw a man driving a team of horses across the ice. The horses pulled a carriage that was loaded with a bunch of boxes and it just went thundering across the ice. All of a sudden, the man stood up, started walking, and then running. This man who was full of fear became a man full of confidence. He learned something about the ice. He learned that if it could hold a team o horses thundering across it, it could certainly hold him.

If you want to have more confidence in God, then hang around somebody who’s riding with God with a team of horses so that you’ll know He can carry you with whatever you are facing. Find somebody who’s been where you are and has experienced God’s deliverance. Their story of faith will encourage you. [Evans, Tony. Tony Evans’ Book of Illustrations. Chicago: Moody Publishers. 2009. pg. 99-100.]

Quote of the day: Hess

“Fear hinder faith, but trust kindles confidence.”

Bible verse of the day: 1 Corinthians 11:1 (NIV)

“Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Each and every day, I place my complete faith in You. It is my faith that keeps me grounded and provides peace that passes all understanding. I am thankful to You for showering me with grace and for always being there for me. I know that I can stand firm in You today and that Your strength will fill me to overflowing. I love You Father and I am thankful for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

