June 2010

A faith so small can accomplish great things

Story of the day: A faith so small can accomplish great things

Many years ago it was decided to put a suspension bridge across a wide gorge. How could they build a bridge across such a wide space? In fact, how could they even start? They shot an arrow from one side to the other. The arrow carried across the gulf a tiny thread, and thus the connection was established. By and by the thread was used to draw a piece of twine across; the twine carried after it a small rope; the rope soon carried a cable across–and in good time the iron chains the bridge was to hang from. [Green, Michael. & Haddon Robinson. 1500 Illustrations for Biblical Preaching. Grand Rapids: Baker Books. 2005. p.136.]

Quote of the day: Michael P. Greene

“Although often weak in its beginning stage, a seemingly small faith can draw us to a stronger and stronger faith that will accomplish greater and greater things.”

Bible verse of the day: Matthew 17:20 (NKJV)

“So Jesus said to them, “Because of your unbelief; for assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I put my complete faith in You. You have shown me that even with a faith so small, that great things for Your Kingdom can happen. Father, I pray that Your Will be done and that I follow what You are asking of me to do. I love You Father and I am thankful for this day and all that it will hold.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

1 thought on “A faith so small can accomplish great things”

  1. Goodness, I was just reading this same bible verse yesterday! Such powerful words. Thank you!

Leave a comment