Giants to Follow

Posted: June 9, 2010 in June 2010

Story of the day: Giants to Follow

Giants. Now what comes to mind when we hear or see this word. To me, I am constantly reminded of a child hood fairy tale called Jack and the Beanstalk or the Green Giant. Whether I was climbing the beanstalk with Jack to face a giant, or eating my greens to make me stronger, they both left a lasting impression on me.

Giants hold a special place in our lore-both historically and literally. From the real giant Goliath to the fictional giant of Jack and the Beanstalk fame, we are fascinated by these larger-than-life characters.

Sometimes we use the word giant to honor ordinary-size people who have done extraordinary things. One example is the 17th Century physicist Sir Isaac Newton. A committed Christian, he credited his success to other “giants” who had gone before. “If I have seen a little further,” he said, “it is by standing on the shoulders of giants.” Indeed, Newton became a giant on whose shoulders later scientists stood–even as they used his observations in the conquest of space flight.

When God commanded Joshua to lead the Israelites into the Promised Land, Joshua certainly had a giant’s shoulders to stand on. He had watched Moses’ leadership for 40 years, and now he would put what he had learned into action.

Joshua had another advantage–his walk with God sustained his life’s mission. Therefore, he had both Moses’ example and God’s promised presence as he led Israel.

Looking for help as you face the future? Look for a giant to follow. And never underestimate the importance of your walk with God. [Fisher, Dennis. On Shoulders of Giants. Our Daily Bread. October 17, 2009 edition.]

Quote of the day: Markham

“A good example is someone who knows the way, goes the way, and shows the way.”

Bible verse of the day: Joshua 1:5 (NKJV)

“No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life; as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you nor forsake you.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You so much for being such a great example to follow. Your consistent and never-failing ways always points me in the direction that I need to be. I know that You will never leave me or forsake me and will continue to teach me my purpose in this life. I am grateful for examples such as Moses and Joshua that endured to the end. Thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    Just wanted to say how much I love this site and what an inspiration it is. Thanks so much and keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

