Distractions

Posted: January 20, 2011 in January 2011

Quote of the Day: January 20, 2011

Good Morning to All of Our Email Friends. It has been a while since I have written, and while I have been preparing the Website and the Email Distribution, I have had time to reflect on just what God wanted me to do. I have never been in this situation, and it kind of reminds me of Moses, wandering the desert for 40 years. Though I can honestly say that this humbling time has been rewarding, it has also been a little lonely. I really prayed and asked God what the website should really encompass and thus far, He has been so faithful in showing me the way. For the next few weeks, and even months, I am going to be sharing with all of you some of the writing that started Quote of the Day as some have not had the opportunity to read what really began Quote of the Day. I hope this new format finds you all doing well and that you are blessed by the upcoming Quotes.

Christy

Story of the Day: Distractions

A few years ago, we all took a trip to a local appliance store, specializing in TV’s Computers, Games, etc. The boys decided to go with Jeff to look at video games, and Christen went with me to look at cameras. Out of no where, I heard crying from across the room. Lo and behold, it was our middle son Jeffrey. Jeffrey had been holding Jeff’s hand, when something in the store caught his eye. Anyone who goes to this stores can be caught off guard by all the gadgets. In this case, Jeffrey took his eyes off of his father and placed them onto all the games. Though Jeffrey never saw his dad after taking being distracted, his dad never took his eyes off of him. Jeffrey’s dad heard him cry and came to reassure him that no matter what the distraction was, he always kept him in his sight.

So many times we will be walking hand in hand alongside of our Heavenly Father, and something along the way distracts us. When we become distracted, we turn our eyes away from God and lose sight of Him. When this happens, we become scared and frightened because we can’t find our Father, where in actuality, our Father  has kept His eye on us the entire time and knows exactly where we are, yet is waiting for us to cry out to Him so that He can bring us back to Him and continue on our walk, hand in hand. Just know, that there will be distractions along our path, but keeping our eyes focused on God, will help minimize those distractions that seem to jump out at us.

Quote of the day: Chuck Swindoll

“It is an old and ironic habit of human beings to run faster when we have lost our way.”

Bible Verse of the Day:  Psalm 34:15

“The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and His ears are open to their cry.”

Prayer of the Day:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for such a blessed day. There are so many times in my life where I get easily distracted and take my eyes off of You. I pray for grace that when I see a distraction, as fun and exciting as it may be, that I don’t take my eyes off of You and. I pray, with Your guidance to overcome the distractions of this world and stay focused on You.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

